A Beginner’s Guide to the Thoth Tarot #1

15965178_10155714963352729_3929770878696675114_n

 

I’m frequently asked “what deck do you recommend for a beginner?” My replies depend upon who is asking, but it is almost always the infamous, glorious, terrifying Thoth.

So, I have decided upon this – I’m going to write a series of posts that will illustrate and explain how I began to use the Thoth deck, back in the mists of time! I hope that they will give a beginner the encouragement that they need to begin their own journey, with confidence. I have at least three individuals in mind who these posts are dedicated to – thank you C. thank you L. and thank you D. – you gorgeous lovely people!

So, why did I recommend the Thoth? I recommended it because

  • It offers so much. It is rich in symbolism, yet it can be used immediately – you don’t need to be adept in Western Magical Tradition to use it. Yet isn’t it satisfying to know all the other wizards are using it too? And musicians, artists, spiritualists, chaotes, witches of all persuasions, psychotherapists, actors, poets, scientists, …all the grooviest of cats use the Thoth deck.
  • There are layers upon layers with the Thoth Tarot.
  • It’s visually gorgeous
  • It has ‘clout’. It’s a ‘proper’ tarot deck.
  • You can really get your teeth into it.
  • It – theoretically – could be the only deck you’ll ever need. or want.

 

15977457_10155714960757729_2348044748631980367_n

What next?

All you need to begin with is your beautiful Thoth deck. However, I’d also strongly suggest you find yourself a notebook to make notes (!) and don’t discard the Little White Booklet that came with the deck. (at this point I need you to let me know if the booklet still contains the commentaries by Lady Frieda Harris; her catalogue notes. My decks are elderly and I’m making an assumption that the new versions are the same – correct me please if I am mistaken)

Your first task is to welcome the deck. This can be as formal or informal as you like; however I’d like you to consider this: I want to encourage a relationship with this deck. What I do, what I did was to make a cup of tea and light a candle. Then sit down with the deck and look through each card in turn. Just as if you have invited a potential new friend to tea. There’s no hurry to become best friends; just have a look.

 

At all points of your explorations, you might care to make notes of what you are doing. What did you do? What were your first impressions?

15895239_10155714965427729_2037643036107548025_n

 

 

 

Leave a comment